Chocolate Soufflé

8 Jul

Weather is getting really hot and high humid and honestly it’s starting to get really annoying. I can still bare with the heat but when it combines with the humid, it just drains me completely and I feel unwell more often. More and more people are leaving the country for their summer holiday. Roads are emptier and on the other hand, I am quite busy with my work, this is the busiest month ever.

What I dislike about working is to wake up early in the morning and I have not much time left for myself. I basically wake up, off to work, come home quite late or if I am home early, I will be busy on the phone due to my work and when I finally have some “me” time, it’s basically time for my beauty sleep. I just can’t figure out how people can still have time to go out for a drink or two.

Even though the weather is crazy hot outside or how busy my work is, when it’s weekend, I usually indulge myself with some good food. I am a person who willing to spend more money on food than clothes. Maybe because I have no sense of fashion, so I would rather not spend.

This weekend, I made some chocolate soufflé. This is my very first attempt of making chocolate soufflé and this is my second time eating it. I had once in Dubai Mall, and it was so heavy and ultimately sweet but when I first saw the chocolate soufflé placed in front of me, it rise up elegantly, somehow I got attracted by it and I told myself I would love to bake one on my own.

My chocolate soufflé rise up in a weird form, but it taste damn good! I reduced the sugar content and I use good quality dark chocolate. I will definitely gonna bake it again until I reach perfection.

Chocolate Soufflé

1/3 cup whipping cream

3 ounces 70% Dark Chocolate

1/2 cup unsweetened cocoa powder & extra for dusting

1/3 cup water

8 large egg whites

1/2 cup granulated sugar

Method

Preheat the oven to 180 degree celcius. Use a pastry brush to coat the inside of four 1 1/2-cup soufflé mold with softened butter. Fill the mold with cocoa powder, then pour out the excess.

Pour the cream into a saucepan and heat over medium high heat until bubbles begin to form around the edge of the pan. Remove from the heat and make a ganache by adding the cream to the chopped chocolate, let stand for 1 minute. Stir well until combined and all of the chocolate has melted.

Make a bain marie by setting a large mixing bowl over a pot of boiling water. Place the ganache in the mixing bowl, add the cocoa powder and water, and whisk until very hot. Remove from the heat and set aside.

Place the egg whites in a large mixing bowl and whip on medium speed until foamy. Increase the mixer speed to medium-high and make a meringue by adding the sugar 1 tablespoon at a time and whipping the whites to stiff.

Use a rubber spatula to gently fold about half the meringue into the warm chocolate mixture. Then fold the chocolate mixture into the remaining meringue, being careful not to deflate the batter. Use a large spoon to gently place the soufflé mixture in the buttered and sugared mold. Fill to about 1/4 inch below the rim of the mold.

Bake until the soufflé has risen to about 1 1/2 half-inch over the rim and starts to brown on top, about 12 minutes. Remove from the oven and dust the top with powdered sugar. Serve immediately.


2 Responses to “Chocolate Soufflé”

  1. Rose September 4, 2012 at 12:42 am #

    I would rather spend my money on good food too. And this one is one hell of a dessert. I have tried baking chocolate souffle before but I like your recipe than the old one I have. Thanks for sharing.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 87 other followers

