Avgolemoni

4 Jan

I’m loving the idea of blogging using the phone! I know that it exist but I’m just too stubborn and doesn’t want to change the old habit of blogging using a laptop. Honestly I find it cooler! You know the image of you sitting at an outdoor cafe, sipping a cup of hot toffee latte and you just turn on the laptop and start blogging. That’s the image I always have in my mind but too bad that’s not what I do or how I blog. I usually blog while wearing my old fashioned pyjama, hair tied up like an old lady, wearing my eyeglasses, sitting on the couch and blog. Ya ya ya! I know so uncool! Lol! Now that I can blog via the phone, I can blog anywhere and anytime!

The weather is getting cooler now, all I want is a good bowl of hearty warm soup. During my trip to Mykonos, I was lucky enough to be introduced to this family run restaurant. They served the best avgolemoni soup that I’ve ever tasted. Since then I been craving for it. When I came back to Dubai, I started researching for recipe. I found a few and tried a few but not as good as the one I tried there. I mean the recipe is still good and I love it. I’m just missing that particular taste which I can’t figure out.

Avgolemoni

20130104-170023.jpg
Ingredient
• I used leftover roasted chicken bones and I added 3 extra chicken breast
• 2 Onions (chopped big pieces)
• 3 stalks Celery (chopped big pieces)
• 1 Carrot (chopped big pieces)
• 2 litres of Water
• 2 whole Lemon Juice
• 2 Eggs
• Orzo (optional)
• Salt and Pepper to taste

Method
1) Bring the 2 litres of water to a boil and add in all the chickens, onions, celery, and carrots. Let it boil for one hour in a medium heat.
2) If you would like to have the vegetables in your soup, you can leave it just as it is. I usually like clear soup, so I make sure all bit and pieces are out of the pot. Remove the chicken from the pot. Put the chicken aside.
3) In case you want to add in the orzo, now it’s the time to do so.
4) In a clean bowl, beat in eggs and lemon juice. Slowly temper the eggs mixture with the hot soup. Keep whisking while pouring the soup to the egg mixture making sure that you won’t end up with scrambled egg.
5) Once the egg mixture is slightly warm, pour in all the mixture to the big pot of soup keep whisking it. You will see that the soup will start to turn yellowish cloudy kinda colour. That’s what we want. And if you like your soup to have a thicker texture, you can add in some cornflour mixture to thicken the soup.
6) Season the soup with salt and pepper. And let the soup come to a boil.
7) While waiting for the soup to boil, I usually take my time and start shredding the chicken breast.
8) Once the soup is boiled, you know it’s time to serve it in a cute nice bowl with some shredded chicken breast on top.

4 Responses to “Avgolemoni”

  1. Sally January 6, 2013 at 1:51 pm #

    This is a favourite of my husband. We have it every Christmas…although we use rice not orzo and no carrot. Funnily enough, although I would usually advocate home-made chicken stock for everything, a stock cube seems to work better for this soup.

    • girlieannyen January 6, 2013 at 2:34 pm #

      True! I tried using rice as well! It works just fine and delicious. I know that some people uses Maggi Chicken Noodle soup to make these. I never tried it personally. I still prefer to make the soup base from scratch if its not a complicated soup. Or else I would use chicken cube stock as well :p

  2. IshitaUnblogged January 7, 2013 at 5:21 am #

    Wow! You know what I love this soup but haven’t really tried making it at home. Haven’t met you for ages now. Wishing you a fabulous New year! Hope to bump into you soon:)

    • girlieannyen January 7, 2013 at 11:40 am #

      Hey girl! Happy New Year to you as well! I know it’s been a while since we met.. been busy with work lately plus most event fall during working hours so not able to squeeze myself in :p But hopefully soon i’ll meet you ladies!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 87 other followers

