Slow Cooked Lamb Shanks

If you love lamb or a lamb eater you might love this. Whether it’s winter or raining season. It’s best to have a plate of warm slow cooked Lamb Shank with some creamy mashed potatoes. There’s something bout comfort food that we just feel like home and safe no matter where you are. And most comfort food for me consists of slow cooking.

Few days ago, I watched this food channel. I forgot the name. But he is cooking this Lamb Shank. And immediately I knew that it’s gonna be so comforting. And I have to cook it! Buying lamb shank here is not as easy as I thought. Lucky me, after visited 3 supermarket I finally able to buy 4 lamb shanks! And it’s the last 4 pieces they have in store. Without thinking I just grab it and run to the counter.

Slow Cook Lamb Shank

¼ cup Olive Oil
1 large Onion, peeled and chopped
8 Garlic Cloves, peeled and sliced
1 28 oz can of Tomatoes (or 2 lbs fresh if available)
1 pound Carrots, peeled and cut into chunks

2 sticks Celery, chopped
1 tbsps Oregano or Italian dried herbs
1½ cups Red wine or Chicken or Lamb stock
2 Bay Leaves
Coarse salt and ground pepper to taste

Method

1.Using a slow cooker pot that able to fit all 4 lamb shanks. Add in some olive oil over medium heat. Start browning the lamb shanks one or 2 at a time. Just to make sure it got a nice brown outer crust.

2.Once it’s browned. Transfer it to a plate.

3.Add in the chopped onion. Cook it until it’s translucent.

4.Next, add in the garlic cloves. And continue cooking for another 3 minutes.

5.Add in the tomatoes can or fresh tomatoes, carrots, celery, herbs, red wine and bay leaves.

6.Let it come to boil. And make sure that the lamb is at least half submerged or else add in some water or stock.

7.You can either cook on low for 5-8hours or you can cook it using oven preheated oven 170 degree Celsius for 2 hours.

In the end I added some baby spinach, as I would like to have some greens with the lamb shanks. Optional.

Update : If you are wondering when I reinsert back the lamb shanks to the pot. I added it in together with the stocks or red wine which is step #5.

