Dawood Basha (Meatball Stew)

My first, Lebanese’s recipe. I got introduce with Lebanese cuisine around 5 years ago. Immediately I fell in love with it. They use quite a lot of spices, which I love. Living in the Middle East region, it’s a great opportunity to learn how to cook their cuisine. I seriously enjoy learning and cooking. And with this cool weather, I wanted to have this spicy meatball stew. This is not the first time I cook this, I do love the spiciness of this stew but I do find it a little spicy. So having it with this creamy mashed potato will be great.

I am so gonna sit in front of the TV and enjoy my stew!

Dawood Basha

Ingredient

2 cubes Maggi Chicken Stock

2 liter Hot Water

600gm Minced Lamb

400gm Hot Arabic Sausage (Remove the meat from the sausage casing) Tip: It will be great if you can ask the butcher to give you the meat without the casing. It will saves you a lot of time.

1 Large White Onion, minced

Salt and Pepper to taste

2tbsps Vegetable Oil

1 Large Onion, sliced

5 cups tomatoes, peeled and tinned

1/2tbsp Tomato Paste

Method

1.Dissolve 2 Maggi Chicken Stock in 2-liter hot water and set aside.

2.Mix the lamb meat and sausage with the minced white onions, salt and pepper and mince them again together.

3.Make small balls and place them on an oiled oven tray and bake them at 300 degrees Fahrenheit for 15 minutes.

4.Start pan-frying the sliced onions in the oil, then add the tomatoes, dissolved Maggi Chicken Stock, salt and pepper. Cook this sauce for 30 minutes on a slow fire sauce. 5.Remove the meatballs from the oven and add the meatballs with their juices to the sauce. Simmer for another 15 minutes.

6.If the sauce is thin, thicken it with 1/2tbsp tomato paste.

