Blueberry Ricotta Pancakes

What did you have for breakfast on the first day of Chinese New Year? Usually during New Year, hawker stalls are extremely crowded and they always rise up the price. So our family have a tradition, we always wake up late and we will head to hotel for brunch. Standard price and less crowded. Smart choice! And since this year, I am not with them; I decided to have pancakes for breakfast. It’s been a while since I had one. Everyone knows that it’s not a healthy breakfast. So I don’t have it often. I miss those fluffy pancakes and most importantly, I like it light! I always had normal ricotta pancakes. But this time I decided to add in something healthy to the pancakes. Blueberries, highly antioxidant fruits. I don’t have a fresh one in the fridge but I do have a whole pack of frozen blueberries. I prefer frozen than fresh. It’s not bad to have frozen fruits or vegetables. It’s actually healthy and tastier; they are picked during the season and being frozen.

Blueberry Ricotta Pancakes

Ingredient

150g Flour
5ml Baking Powder
pinch of Salt
2tbsp Caster Sugar
1 Egg
125ml Milk
50ml Canola Oil
100g Ricotta
Blueberries

Method

  1. Sift together the flour, baking powder, salt and sugar.
  2. Combine the egg, milk, butter and ricotta in a separate bowl and mix well.
  3. Make a well in the center of the dry ingredients and pour in the wet.
  4. Gently mix in the wet ingredients until you have a smooth batter.
  5. Fry spoonful of the mixture in a warm, non-stick frying pan. Add a generous tablespoonful’s worth of blueberries to each pancake (on the un-cooked side) before flipping over.
  6. Remove the pancakes from the pan and keep warm in a low oven until ready to serve.
