Ddukbokkie

How’s your Chinese New Year celebration up till now? I’ve been busy with job hunting (Finger crossing), studying, research and documenting new food recipe. Hoping to find more recipes to blog. I really have to salute those full time blogger, because it is a huge commitment, staying on track and dedicating time to blog. I never thought it would be tough. But I like it and enjoying my time up till now. Recently, my loved one attended a workshop regarding woman who cooks in this region. And it turn out that I am categorize as Innovator woman, because I love to try new stuff and I am not afraid of trying it. Which is kinda true in my opinion. For example, there’s a lot of food that I never tasted before and if I’ve seen once and if it attract my eyes I will definitely try to cook it.

A very good example; Ddukbokkie, it’s a popular spicy hot rice cake snacks in Korea. Personally I never have been to Korea, never tasted it and I never seen one except on the Internet. But it really catches my eyes when I first saw it in the video. I can only imagine how it would taste like. Thick spicy sauce, and chewy rice cake. It sounds pretty good to me. So I am gonna give it a try. But first I have to hunt for a Korean shop that sells the ingredients! It took me an hour searching for it on the Internet! And I finally found few of it, went there I bought what I needed. Came home and immediately start cooking. It’s not the lowest calories but I just can’t resist it!

Ddukbokkie

Ingredient

300gm Tube Rice Cake

4-6tbsps Hot Pepper Paste (Gochujang)

1tbsp Sugar

4cup Water

7 Anchovies

Some Fish Cakes or Fish Balls

1stalk Spring Onion

Method

  1. Separate the tubes of rice cake into individual pieces.
  2. In a pan, pour 4 cups of water and add dried anchovies after removing their heads and intestines. Boil the water for 10 minutes over medium heat.
  3. Remove the anchovies and add the rice cakes, hotpepper paste, sugar, fish cake or fish ball. Stir it constantly.
  4. Cut 7 green onions into 5 cm long pieces, and add them to the pot.
  5. Keep stirring until the sauce is thick and the rice cake is shiny.
  6. Transfer it to a plate and serve!

And there you have it! Ddukbokkie!

Enjoy!