Ispahan Panna Cotta

Enjoying the cold weather here. Let’s hope it last longer this year. Yesterday, I received a sad news from my loved one’s family. I never thought I have this kind of reaction towards it. Even though I only spent a week with him, but when I receive the news I felt really upset. But I am sure he’s at better place now. It makes me realize that we really should cherish everything we have and cherish everyone around me. Life is short! So spend it wisely. Do not always make excuses that “ We are still young!” The fact is when we start making such excuses, we just delaying whatever plan we planned to do! And it will eventually end up not doing it! So I finally have a New Year’s resolution. It’s late but better than nothing. Right? No matter how busy I am when I start working I will still stay on track with blogging, cause I really enjoy cooking and sharing it out! I really don’t want to lose it. It’s liked the only thing I felt zen like. I know it’s kinda weird to some people. But whenever I start cooking, my mind just empty out like someone meditating. And after it, I felt satisfied and joy!

True that we have to work to be able to survive, and sometimes we are not always lucky with our work field. But people tend to forget to just take a break and do whatever they love. They tend to forget their passion. Which is a shame. I am not asking anyone to just resign from work and continue with his or her passion. I am just asking that whenever you have the time after work or weekend spends it on something that makes you happy! This way, you will live your life more meaningful. And trust me, you will be happier!

Okay! Enough philosophy time! Back to my blog, this recipe was inspired from the famous Pierre Herme’s Ispahan Macaroon. Yes Yes Yes! The famous flavor of rose petal, lychee and raspberry. Just the sound of it, makes me drool! I wanted to make the macaroon itself but as I said before on my previous post, I don’t have an oven. So all I can do now it’s get some inspiration from it and make it into something else.

How did I get the inspiration from? I wanted to make panna cotta for a very long time! And it hit me that why not add some of the main element of famous macaroon to it. It should taste great! Everything works well together!

Ispahan’s Panna Cotta

Ingredient

1 cup Cream
1 cup Milk
1/2 Vanilla Bean, split (I kept the rest of the vanilla bean into the Project 1,Vanilla Extract)
1/4 cup Rose Syrup
3 tbsp Sugar
1 1/2 tsp Gelatin
2 tbsp Water
1/4 cup Raspberries
5-6 Lychees (I used tin lychees)

Rose Syrup
1 cup Water
1/2 cup Sugar
2 tsp Rose Water
1 1/2 tbsp Lemon Juice
Red Food Coloring (optional)

Method

Rose Syrup: Boil water and sugar together for about 10 minutes. Remove from heat and let cool. Stir in the rose water and lemon juice. Set aside 1/4 cup for the panna cotta. Add a touch of red food coloring (optional) to the remaining syrup. I added a little too much. Not to my liking.

Panna Cotta: Combine the cream, milk, and vanilla bean in a saucepan and bring to boil. Remove from heat and cover for 5 minutes. Sprinkle the gelatin over the water and let sit for 5 minutes. Discard the vanilla bean. Stir the gelatin, sugar, and rose syrup into the cream mixture. Place a lychee and a few raspberries in each serving. Pour cream mixture over the fruit until almost covered. Refrigerate panna cotta until firm. Before serving, pour a little rose syrup over the panna cotta.