Malaysian Chicken Curry

I went back to my home country for vacation lately, and to be honest I felt like a giant there! I mean my size. Oh mine, how can those Asian girl be so petite! What are they eating all these time? I am size 8 but still I felt like a giant! So after I came back from vacation, I’ve been trying to shed of some weight, but I never stop eating good yummilicious food. I am still eating food that I love but I am just limiting the portion and be extra caution with the timing. I eat more during the day and after 8pm I try to not eat heavily. Just a few bite of fruits if I am really hungry. I said 8pm just because I usually sleep really late. But it doesn’t mean I wake up late either. I just don’t sleep much. Which is quite unhealthy. Oh well, let’s just take it step by step. Shall we? And I tried to exercise more. Yoga, Pilates, and some weight resistance. It should be enough for now. I think…

Like I said, I never stop myself from enjoying my favorite food. And here it is! Malaysian Chicken Curry! Huge fan of spicy food! Just give me anything spicy and I’ll eat it. I tried loads of different curry, and it will never beat these Malaysian styles of curry. It’s just so good! I’ve been dreaming about it for almost a year now! I’ve tried cooking it with so many different curry powders; it just not the same taste. So I got some curry powder all the way from Malaysia and tried cooking it again! Finally, I got it right. I am not sure what’s inside that curry powder but it seems that it does differ. You can obviously make your own curry paste or buy curry paste in the wet market. But I prefer using the powder. Much easier! Just trying to be efficient when I am in a hurry but still wanna enjoy a good lunch or dinner!

Malaysian Chicken Curry

Ingredient

1 pack Instant Curry Paste (8 oz or 250 grams) this is where I just mix curry powder with water into a paste.
8 oz peeled Potatoes
4 Chicken Leg (4 drumsticks and 4 thighs or 2 lbs chicken)
3 Shallots (peeled)

4 Garlic (peeled)
2 Lemongrass (use the white parts only, pounded)
1 tbsp Oil
2 cups Water/500 ml (use less water if you want thicker curry or more if you want more curry sauce)
1/2 cup Coconut Milk (100 ml)
Some Curry Leaves (optional)

Method

  1. Blend together the shallots and garlic.
  2. Heat up a deep pot. Add in oil. Sauté the shallot and garlic till it’s aromatic.
  3. Add in the curry paste, curry leaves and lemongrass. Continue sauté till it’s aromatic.
  4. Add in the chicken. Keep stirring for another minute or so. Add in water.
  5. Cover the pot and lower the heat to medium. Bring it to boil, lower the heat to low, and add in the potatoes.
  6. Keep it simmer for another 20 minutes till everything is cook.
  7. Last but not least, before serving, add in the coconut milk.

Selamat Makan! (Bon appetite!)