Hainanese Chicken Rice

Challenging myself with another Asian Cuisine. When I was cooking this; I was crossing my finger the whole time. Hoping that it will work out fine this time. This is my 2nd time cooking it. The first time, the chicken was fine but not as what I expected. The rice is tasteless. I expected it to be more aromatic. I didn’t make any chili sauce the first time. Since I am challenging myself again, I thought to myself why not make my own chili sauce. I am not so sure if Hainanese Chicken Rice is originated from Malaysia or Singapore. Both have their own story. In any case, if you ever visit these two countries, you will definitely find this dish with good price obviously. It’s another childhood meal of mine. Whenever my mum didn’t cook for lunch during school days, my mum will usually buy me hainanese chicken rice. I will come home from school and see this white polystyrene box contained Hainanese Chicken Rice. I will wait for my mum till she’s free to have lunch. We will sit down and enjoy the lunch, while talking about my day in school. We will end up laughing most of the time talking about some silly stuff. I guess we are the loudest family in my area, not because we argue or yell at each other, but it’s because we laugh the most and extremely loud! I don’t think there’s anyone in Malaysia that’s not familiar with this dish. So when I moved out to another country, I do miss it. I called up my mum, and asked her for the recipe. Mum’s always the best! The best cook ever! And it turn out amazingly D.E.L.I.C.I.O.U.S! Definitely a keeper!

Hainanese Chicken Rice

For the Chicken

1 whole Chicken (I used 1.5kg chicken)

4inch Fresh Ginger, sliced

2stalks Green Onion, into 1inch

Salt

  1. Give the chicken a nice good rub using the salt. This is to remove any dirt or dead skin. I am so in love with this part. Give it a good massage!
  2. Next, rinse off the chicken with water. Inside and out. Stuff the chicken with fresh ginger and green onion.
  3. Using a big pot, turn the heat on, and pour water in enough to cover the chicken.
  4. Put the chicken inside, is ok if the stuffing come out. Season the water with good amount of salt. As we gonna use this stock for rice cooking, chili sauce making and it will be a nice chicken soup that goes well with the dish.
  5. Let it come to boil, then turn off the heat and cover the pot, let it simmer for another 30 minutes or until the chicken its cook.
  6. Prepare a nice ice bath for the chicken. Take the chicken out from the hot pot and put it into the nice ice bath you just prepared. This is to stop the cooking and to tighten the skin.
  7. And when you want to dish up the chicken, you can poach the chicken back into the hot stock just to warm back the chicken. And immediately, rub the chicken with sesame oil and soy sauce for better flavor.

For the Hainanese Rice

1 cup Long Grain Rice (I used Jasmine rice)

2 cup Chicken Stock (the one we just prepared)

Small knob of Butter

3 cloves Garlic, minced

4 slices Ginger

  1. Wash and drain the rice.
  2. On a small pot, turn the heat on; add in the butter, garlic and ginger.
  3. Saute it till you can smell the nice aroma. But make sure the garlic and ginger its not brown.
  4. Add in the rice; keep stirring for another couple of minutes. This gives the rice an extra flavor.
  5. Pour in the 2 cups of Chicken Stock. Add in salt to taste.
  6. From now on, cover the pot. You can just forget it till it’s fully cook.

For the Chili Sauce

2 or 3 Fresh Red Chilies (Add more if you like it spicier)

5 slices Ginger

6 cloves Garlic

3tbsp Lime Juice

4tbsp Chicken Stock

Sugar and Salt to taste

1. Add everything into a blender. And BLEND! It should be quite watery. You can taste it and add more salt or sugar to your liking.

