Steamed Moist Chocolate Cake

Yesterday I received good news. I was so happy and excited that I wanted to break my diet! So this morning, I woke up and head to the supermarket to stock up some ingredients to make a cake. I wanted it Chocolate Cake. But I came to realize that my oven is out of order. I probably have to wait till the end of May or maybe longer depend on my financial situation. I want to move to a bigger room that has a proper kitchen space. As for now, my kitchen is extremely small that I don’t think it consider as a kitchen. But it never stops me from making good food! Never stops me from cooking. Never stops me from inventing delicious food. Since I don’t have oven, I choose to steam the chocolate cake. I didn’t even doubt about it. I remember my sister told me once that she had a steamed chocolate cake. I asked her for the recipe but too bad that it’s premix ingredients. But since now I know it exists, I have a high chance of making it work! The result? I love it! It’s so moist and rich! Strong cocoa’s flavor. But I think it will taste better if I add some coffee extract.

Steamed Moist Chocolate Cake

154775b67c0ee92a82bb814dabd779d2

 

See how moist is the cake? How can you not fall in love with it?

Ingredient

For the Cake

180gm Butter

200gm Caster Sugar

½ tin Evaporated Milk( I used Carnation)

2 Eggs, beaten

100gm Plain Flour

50gm Cocoa Powder

½tsp Baking Powder

½tsp Bicarbonate Soda/Baking Soda

½tsp Vanilla Extract/Essence

1.Put butter, caster sugar, evaporated milk and vanilla extract into a pot. In low heat, stir until sugar melts.

2.Turn off the heat and let it cool. Add in the beaten eggs.

3.Keep stirring it until it mix through.

4.Sift the plain flour, baking powder, bicarbonate soda, and cocoa powder into a clean bowl.

5.Pour in the cool evaporated milk into the dry mixture. Keep stirring it until everything is well combined.

6.Heat the steamer.

7.Lined and greased a 9 inch round baking pan. Cover the pan loosely with an aluminum foil.

8.Place the baking pan into the steamer. Cover the steamer and steam in medium low heat for 45 mins or until it’s fully cooked. If you want to know it’s fully cooked, insert a toothpick in the middle of the cake. If it comes out clean then it’s fully cooked.

9.Remove it from the steamer. And let it completely cool before removing it from the baking pan.

For the Chocolate Topping

½tin Condensed Milk (I used Nestle Fat Free Condensed Milk)

2tbsp Canola Oil

20gm Cocoa Powder (I used Cadbury’s cocoa powder, but I would recommend you to use a good quality cocoa powder)

1.Mix everything into a pot. Turn on the heat to low. Keep stirring it until it’s thicken. Turn off the heat and let it cool down before spreading it on the cool cake.

 

 

 

