Steamed Yam Cake (芋头糕)

The first time I make Radish Cake, I failed. It was like few months ago. This time I decided to make Yam Cake. It seems that I prefer yam than radish. Only my family knows how I struggle to find the yam. I approximately know how it looks like. But when I went to the supermarket, I saw a board written “Yam” but it doesn’t look like the yam that I know of. Later on, I saw something that look like the yam that I know of, but it’s written as Guglas. I have no clue what its Guglas. So I called my mum and asked her how does it look like! I was so worry that I am gonna buy a wrong one. She explained to me. And I bought the so-called Guglas. I went back home and I saw my mum online. And immediately I webcam with her just to show her the guglas that I bought. I wanted to confirm that it is yam! After I got the confirmation, I started cooking. It’s little time consuming but it’s definitely worth it! And due to I failed in making the radish cake; I finger crossing the whole time. Hoping that I will be able to make it this time!

And it turns out great. Better than I expected. Love it! Superb!

Steamed Yam Cake

Ingredient

2.3 litres Water
500g (after peeling) Taro/Yam, diced
3/4 cup (or more, up to you) Dried Prawns (Har Mai), washed & chopped coarsely
500g Rice Flour (Mix the rice flour with the 2.3 litres water and keep it aside)
Salt and Pepper to taste
1/4tsp Five Spice Powder (to your liking)

Garnish

Shallot

Red Chili

Green Onion

Dried Prawn

Method

1. Put oil into hot wok and add the shallots and fry till golden brown. Scoop out the shallots for garnish later and leave the oil in the wok. Add in dried prawns and fry till golden brown and crisp at low heat. Scoop some of the dried prawn out for garnish.

2. With the rest of the dried prawn still in the wok, add the taro and fry till light brown or till it’s soft. Season fried ingredients with salt, pepper, five spice powder stir it for another minute. Add in the rice flour mixture. Continue stirring because it’s easily burn so stir it at low heat for about 12 to 15 minutes until mixture is thick

3. Grease a 12″round tin and scoop the fried mixture in, pressing lightly to level and fill out the tin.

4. Steam at high heat for 45-50 min. Let it cool completely. Garnish it with the chili, green onion, shallot and dried prawn over the top.

Did you see the yam? I love it when I cut it cube this way I can still enjoy the yam texture. And it’s best serve with chili sauce. I used Lingham Chili Sauce.