Famous Heston Blumenthal’s Chocolate Mousse

Today is Valentine’s Day. I would like to wish everyone Happy Valentine’s Day! Hope everyone will have a romantic and happy memorable celebration. What’s your plan for tonight? I bet there’s tons of proposal happening during these day in the world. How romantic it is to be proposing in such a memorable day? Personally, I think it’s a norm for ladies to fantasize about it. I always wanted it to be unique and it would be awesome if the proposing happens in front of my family member or friends, as I would love them to witness it as well. It will be even better if someone record video out of it. How nice it is right? You can watch it over and over again! You can even show it to your children later on. (Laughs) I would love to have recorded videos in all the special events in my life. It’s really worth keeping it. There’s a lot of circulating proposal videos in Facebook, and I watched quite a lot of it. It’s so touching and sometimes I ended up tearing up! At some point, my loved one said please stop watching, I don’t want to get your hopes high. LOL!

During Valentine’s Day, we always stay at home. Mainly is because of the traffic and the prices. I am not super duper rich, so I really don’t want to waste those money on one particular day that you celebrate every single year. I remember someone once said that “Everyday is a Valentine” But to be honest with you, I think all these celebration it’s a really good idea for those couples that’s been together for a very long time and they kinda forget how to be romantic or have fun. Some don’t even go out for a date anymore. It just became routine and responsibilities. It’s actually frightening, that maybe one day I will become like one of them.

This year, I planned to play cooking with my loved one at home and watch a chick flick movie. I always find guys very attractive when they cook. So I have to search for recipes that it’s easy for guys who don’t know how to cook. Pasta is a good option. I adore pasta! Big FAN! Of course we need dessert to end such a romantic day. Romantic equals chocolate to me! How about some rich chocolate mousse? You must be thinking chocolate mousse? And you are saying you wanted recipe that it’s easy? You must be kidding me! Chocolate mousse can be quite tricky to make.

Ah ha! No worries ladies and gentlemen! This is a super duper easy recipe! And guess what it’s healthier too! Wondering why? There’s no cream or egg or any dairy products inside. All you need is water, some sugar if you want it to be sweeter, good quality dark chocolate and if you want it to be more adult, you can add in some alcohol. And if you’re thinking in your mind, chocolate and water? Wont it split? And here’s the answer, NOPE! Not with this recipe. It’s super fast to make! Less than 10 minutes!

Famous Heston Blumenthal’s Chocolate Mousse

Creamy, luscious and rich chocolate mousse. It’s just delicious!

Ingredient

270gm Dark Chocolate 70%

1 cup Water (if in case you want to add in alcohol, add in 1tbsp alcohol but scoop out 1tbsp of water. The ratio is quite important. So as long as the liquid is equivalent to one cup then you are good to go)

4tbsp Sugar (optional, in case you want it to be sweeter)

Method

1.     Place a large mixing bowl on top of another slightly smaller one, filled with ice and cold water (the bottom of the large bowl should touch the ice). Set aside.

2.     Put chocolate and water (also sugar and/or liquor if you’re using) in a medium-sized pan and melt the chocolate over medium heat, stirring occasionally.

3.     Pour the melted chocolate into the mixing bowl sitting on top of ice and water, and start whisking with a wire whisk (or an electrical hand-held mixer) until thick. Watch the texture as you whip and make sure not to over-whip as it will make the mousse grainy. If the mousse becomes grainy (which is possible at your first try), transfer it back into the pan, reheat until half of it is melted, pour it back to the mixing bowl and whisk again briefly.

4.     Divide into four serving cups and serve immediately.

I adapted this recipe from Café Fernando