Taiwanese Spring Onion Pancakes

I heard a lot about Taiwan. Personally I never have been to Taiwan. But it seems they have lots of delicious street food delicacies and it’s quite cheap. I am definitely a street food’s lover. And I definitely will visit the country once I start to make some money! I just enjoy walking around and discover their local delicacies. I would love to travel to all the countries just to discover more food’s culture. It’s one of my dreams. Hope it will come true one day. But for now, let’s just hope I able to find a full time job. Recently, I’ve been reading this book called Kitchen’s Confidential by Anthony Bourdain. It’s highly recommended to read but not before you eat. LOL! I personally don’t really get disgusted with the way he described some of the kitchens. First of, I will never pick a restaurant that’s empty during lunch or dinnertime to dine in the first place. I don’t think it’s the best bet as I am sure the ingredients won’t be as fresh as it should be. So great tip: Never dine in at an empty restaurant. Another awesome tip would be never order food that’s not their specialties. For an example, never order seafood in a meat restaurant! Well, it’s logic right?

As for this Spring Onion pancakes, I’m never a big fan of spring onion since I was young. I remember how my mum tricks me to eat some spring onions. She always said if you eat spring onion, you would be smarter. LOL! And later the aunt who sells noodles early morning start to pick up the trick. And whenever she sees me, she will trick me like my mum did! But now I grew older, I eat it but won’t crave for it or anything at the same time, I won’t purposely scoop it out if it’s serves to me. So you must be wondering why would I choose to make this spring onion pancakes right?

Honestly, I have no clue but when I saw the recipe, I just knew that I will love it and I will have to try it out! High probability it’s because I read the word “CRUNCHY”! And it is very crunchy. These pancakes it’s one of Taiwan famous street food delicacies. Even I am a person who’s not a big fan of spring onion loves this snacks and I recommend to add more spring onion. It will definitely taste much better. Next time, I will add more! Yeap, you didn’t read it wrong and I did not misspell it! I love the sweetness and fragrant of the spring onion in these pancakes. Delicious!

Taiwanese Spring Onion Pancakes

(I adapted this recipe from Echo’s Kitchen)

Ingredient

450gm All Purpose Flour
1/3cup Vegetable Oil (I used Canola oil)
1/2tsp Salt
1bunch Spring Onion
1cup Warm Water
1/4 – 1/3 cup of Room Temperature Water

Method

1.First weigh 60 gms of all purpose flour from the 450 gms, and mix it with 1/3 cup of vegetable oil, add salt into the oil-flour mixture, set aside.

2.Now knead remaining flour with warm water and room temperature water into soft dough, leave dough aside for 30 minus, cover with wet towel or cling paper.

3.Washed, and drained spring onion, spin dry spring onion, and chopped.

4.After half an hour, spread some vegetable oil on working surface and on hand.

5.Divide dough into 4 equal parts, roll it out into a 1 mm thick, 8-10 inches long, 5-6 inches in width flat bread. Spread a thin layer of oil-flour mixture evenly, sprinkle chopped spring onion as much as you can handle.

6.Roll it up, and hold both ends tightly, slowly pull at opposite direction while lightly tapped the dough, this is to pull the dough into a long strip-liked shape, the longer, the better.

7.Rolled it up to shape like a spiral shell, tucked the end underneath.

8.DO NOT rolls it out immediately; leave the spiral shell aside for another 30 minutes.

9.After half an hour, take out one of the dough, and roll it out into 8 inches flat bread.

10.Heat up a cast iron pan, fry bread at medium heat, cover with lid first, when the surface of bread turn translucent, turn and fry the other side.

11.Cook the pancake while pushing the edges using a spatula to loosen up the layers; this will make it crispy, layered and soft.