Fasoulia

Yet another Lebanese’s recipe that I am sharing today.  I’ve been a big fan of Lebanese food since I first tasted it. Here’s the thing, a lot of people have misconception on Lebanese food. Which I seriously don’t blame them because I; myself used to be the same. For most people, Lebanese food is all about tabbouleh, fattoush, hummus, muttabbal, shawarma, tawouk and other grilled meats or seafoods. But seriously, this is not what Lebanese people eat every single day. This is not what Lebanese’s mama cooks every single day. Please don’t have this misconception. I learnt it while I was living in Beirut for almost 9 months. I love it there. I love the food. Especially the home cooked food. Their home cooked food is so different than those foods that the restaurant serves. This is recipe is one of the example; you wont find it in any restaurant. I love this recipe a lot! I love the beans and serving it with rice, it’s the best combo. Very easy recipe, yet again cheap and it’s very healthy. One down side is that, once you ate lots of these innocent beans, you tend to let out some natural gas. LOL! Well, at least this is what I heard. It didn’t happen to me before. This recipe, you can add in meat or chicken if you like. Today I am just gonna share with you the vegetarian version.

Fasoulia

Ingredient

150-200gm Lima Bean (soaked overnight)

1 big Onion (diced)

5 cloves Garlic (minced)

2-3tbsp Tomato Paste

Water or Chicken or Beef or Vegetable stock (Depending to your liking)

Oil

Salt to taste

Method

1.Bring a pot of water to boil, add in the lima beans that been soaked overnight.

2.Let it cook until the beans are tender. To test it, I used a toothpick; poke it right in the middle of the beans.

3.Once it’s soft and tender, drained the beans and gives it a good rinse.

4.Using another clean pot, add in oil. Heat it on medium to high heat; add in the onions.

5.Saute it till it’s translucent.

6.Add in the garlic, keep on stirring it until fragrant.

7.Add in the lima beans, tomato paste, salt and water or stock till its cover the beans.

8.Bring it to boil, and turn the heat to medium to lower. Let it simmer.

9.It will get thicken up on its own. So don’t worry about it. It should be thicken up.

10.Serves with rice.

Sahtein!

