Leeks and Peas Pasta

395213_151399801646715_779498479_n

Recently I’ve been into cooking leeks. I replaced onion with it. I enjoy cooking and buying it. It got this mild onion like taste, which I love. It’s more firm and crunchy than a normal onion. Oh! I just learnt a new fact, for those who have no idea, a quick fact; leek is one of the national emblems of Wales. And it is the season for the leeks now! No wonder I see them everywhere! I’m a firm believer in buying ingredients according to the season. It’s just much tastier and fresher.

I got this recipe from one of the magazine I got in the supermarket. I love this Gourmet Magazine. They keep me up to date with what’s happening around that’s related to food and beverages. And they gave good recipes too! They solves quite of my headache about what to cook for dinner!

Leeks and Peas Pasta

Ingredient

500gm Pasta

2 Leeks, cut into rings

1 clove Garlic, minced

1tbsp Butter

250gm Frozen Peas

100ml Vegetable Stock or Water

200ml Cream

50gm Parmesan Cheese, grated

1 lemon, zest

Method

1.In a big pot, bring water to boil. Add a generous amount of salt to it. And add in the pasta. Cook till it’s al dente.

2.In another pan, heat it up. Add in the butter and let it melt.

3.Once it’s completely melt, add in the leeks and garlic. Stir it till it’s fragrant but not burnt.

4.Add in the frozen peas. I don’t have the time to defrost it. So I just throw it in while it’s still frozen.

5.Pour in the vegetable stock. Let it comes to boil. Pour in the cream and half the grated Parmesan cheese.

6. Season it with salt and pepper. Add in the lemon zest.

7.It should be slightly thicken by now.

8.Pasta should be ready, drained the pasta.

9.Add it in the sauce that you just prepared.

10. Toss it and serve with more grated Parmesan cheese on top. Who will ever mind about more Parmesan cheese?!

This serves 4 portions.