Fennel Meatballs Stew

431011_154374881349207_465404171_n (1)

Another warm yet hearty, hot piping meatballs stew. I just love the idea of spending time together at the dining table having a bowl of hot piping stew when the weather is cold out there. What’s better than this? Right? This meatballs recipe you can have it with pasta, or sandwiches. It doesn’t have to be stew. I wanted it to be stew, as I wanted it as Atkins friendly too. Not for me of course. I can never be able to stick to certain diet for more than a week. Recently I have to figure out recipes that are Atkins friendly and at the same time I can add a twist to it, so I can have my daily intake of carbs. And this is one of it. I just boiled some pasta and toss it with the stew. Lovely dinner.

Fennel Meatballs Stew

(adapted from IAmAFoodBlog)

Ingredient

1pound Minced Beef

2tbsp Parsley, chopped

1 Egg

3tbsp Breadcrumbs (I omitted this as I wanted it Atkins Friendly)

2tsp Fennel Seeds

1 Onion, finely diced

Salt and Pepper to taste

1 Tomato, diced

2-3tbsp Tomato Paste

Water / Stock enough to cover the meatballs

Method

1.Heat up a small pan, add in 1-2tbsp vegetable oil. Saute the onion and fennel seeds until the onion is translucent and slightly brownish. Turn the heat off and let it cool.

2.Once the onions and fennel seeds completely cool. In a large bowl, mix all the ingredients together except the tomato, tomato paste and water.

4.Mix it through. And once everything is well combined. Start to shape it into meatballs. It should make approximately around 24meatballs depends on the size.

5.Turn on the heat. Heat up a non-stick pan. I didn’t add any oil to the pan. Because the meatballs it self will release some fat. Add the meatballs to the pan. And let it brown on all sides.

6.Keep the meatballs aside. Using the same pan that you brown the meatballs. Add in the diced tomato. Saute it for another minute.

7.Add in the tomato paste and keep stirring it till it’s fragrant. Add in all the meatballs. Pour in water / stock enough to cover at least half the meatballs. I added some French beans. Let it come to boil. Turn the heat to medium to low. Let it simmer until the meatballs are completely cooked.

8.Taste and try to see if you need to add more salt or pepper before you serve.

Enjoy!