Stuffed Zucchini with a Twist (Kousa)

I don’t remember when it’s the first time I had this stuffed zucchini. But I believe I had this in Dubai. And the first time I ever saw a zucchini, I was in Lebanon. Please don’t laugh at me. I am a girl from a small town. So when I moved out from my town. I actually realized that the world its actually huge! There’s a lot to learn, a lot to see, and a lot to experience. I believed that we should never limit ourselves in learning or experiencing even though in the end we might end up regretting it. But it’s worth a try. We live life once. Why not lives it to the full? Right?

But at the same time, I am also a person who’s very careful with everything that I do. I think like million times before making any decisions. And I will come up with tons of scenarios with makes my life difficult when it’s not. I do feel tired most of the time thinking about it. And I am trying hard to change. Recently, I’ve been trying to keep myself busy so that I don’t have the time to think.

I did some cooking, reading, blogging and painting. I’m also been really active with the community and charities. To be very honest with you, I actually like to involve myself with charity work. Not only that it’s fun; but also the feeling of helping others is awesome.

We now live in a social circle that everyone only cares about himself or herself. And I admit I am one of them too. I won’t deny it. Since I did the charity, I realized more how selfish most of us are nowadays. I will definitely keep helping as much as I can. Even a small help, makes a big difference.

Stuffed Zucchini with a Twist (Kousa Recipe)

Ingredient

10 small Zucchini (with the core removed)

250gm Lamb Meat, minced

250gm Soujouk or Arabic Hot Spicy Sausages (with the skin removed)

½ cup Rice, rinsed

3 cloves Garlic, minced

Salt to taste

3-4tbsp Tomato Paste

Water enough to cover the zucchini

2-3 Tomato, sliced (Depending how big is your pot)

Method

1.Mix the mince lamb meat, soujouk, garlic, salt, and rice in a bowl. Mix it till all well combined.

2.With the tomato slices, lay it on the bottom of the pot till it’s well covered. This is to protect the zucchini from sticking on the bottom of the pot.

3.Rinse the zucchini and make sure that it’s well drained.

4.Stuffed the zucchini with the meat mixture.

5.A small tips: In order to get the mixture down, tap the bottom of the zucchini lightly on the table or working surface. And never stuffed it to the fullest. 80-90% will be more than enough, as the rice will expand.

6.Lay the stuffed zucchini on the pot horizontally.

7.Turn on the heat to high, pour in the water till it covers the zucchini.

8.Add in the tomato paste. Once it comes to boil, turn the heat to medium to low. Let it simmer till it’s all cooked.

9.Season it with salt to taste.

10.Best serves with yogurt! Delicious!!

