Molasses with Tahini

Every time I come to Beirut, I learn something new. This time I came at the fasting month for Easter. During the fasting period, they are not allowed to eat any kind of meat or dairy products. So I had some of the sweet desserts that are made for vegan. I will keep that for later post. But today, I wanna share with you this recipe that I got from my loved one’s mum. It’s molasses with tahini. First of all, I have no clue how molasses tastes it. I always wanted to buy it but I was worry I might not like it and I will waste it.

Now, I got the chance to taste it. It’s very sweet. And for those of you that have no clue what is molasses. Molasses is a viscous by-product of the processing of sugar canes, sugar beets or grapes into sugar. It’s a very thick, luscious, dark color and quite sweet. I love the taste of it. But because it is so thick, we cut the thickness using some tahini. I always love tahini. So these two combinations of tahini and molasses, it’s definitely awesome.

You can spread it on Arabic bread, or even biscuits. And it’s good for constipation.

All you need is molasses and tahini. Around 90% Molasses and 10% Tahini. Mix it together. And wala! It’s time to dig in.

