Wine Tasting, Asado

It’s been more than a month since I last blog, I definitely miss it and I miss you guys. Been busy with work and house moving and now I finally settled to the new apartment! Still have lots that need to be done, cleaning, packing and etc..

I figured out that its time to be active again, so I decided to join some foodies events just for warming up and to catch up with some of the food bloggers in Dubai.

Last evening, we attended a Wine Tasting event that’s been organized by Asado, The Palace, The Old Town.  A place that I’ve wanted to visit but never got the chance. And now I can officially tell you that I’VE BEEN THERE and I definitely will go back again.

A big thanks for their kindness to organize such amazing events to the food bloggers. It’s definitely an eye opener for me. I am not a heavy drinker and I have no idea about wine and this is why I chose to attend the event and I think it’s a very good opportunity for me to learn more about wine. The biggest reason why I do not drink wine, it’s because I don’t know how to choose a good wine. I seriously do not wish to spend money on buying it and then ended up regretting it cause wine in Dubai can be quite costly.

Before I bombard you with all the pictures that I took from the session. Let me share with you a little background of the restaurant, Asado, the lively Argentinean Grill, serves premium meat cuts prepared in Asado Criollo-style on an open Parrilla grill in the centre of the restaurant. Featuring both ala carte and set menu as well as the largest collection of Argentinian beverages.

“Asado, most recently recognised by Wine Spectator, is home to the largest collection of Argentinean wines in the Middle East. Asado offers wine appreciation classes for groups where guests can join in a very informal and relaxing environment as our sommelier guides them through the world of wines, from Cabernet to Malbec, Chardonnay to Sauvignon Blanc, not leaving behind Pinot Noirs and Viogniers.” – The Address Hotel

What’s my first impression of the location? OMG! Where should I begin? The moment we drove the car in for the valet parking.. My mouth just opened widely.. and kept saying OMG! OMG! OMG! It’s amazing! I felt like I’m in another world the moment we entered. It’s a very romantic place with an Arabian touch.

How about the restaurant? Well, I can tell you that I will give them 5 stars for the ambience. I just love places like this. I wouldn’t mind going there again just for the ambience.

Now it’s time to bombard you with some pictures! Ready?????

Grilled Baby Goat in the middle of the restaurant.. Aren’t it cool?

 Perfect match for wine..

Table setting of the Wine Club..

We start wine tasting with some Sparkling wine. This is a fun, fabulous and fresh Argentinian version of a Champagne. It is a blend of Chardonnay, Malbec and Pinot Noir picked from the heights of Mendoza. It has a soft elegant mouthfeel with a toasty bouquet with well balanced acidity and fruity notes. I was surprise that I actually love this. I am not a big fan of champagne or sparkling wine, but this indeed change my view on it.

Second, white Chardonnay, the nose offers ripe tropical fruit aromas with citrus and floral notes. The mouthfeel is full and rich, with concentrated ripe pear and fig fruit mingled with vanilla and sweet spice oak flavors. The finish is clean and fresh with bright, crisp acidity. I do like this too, but honestly I do not find the wow factor until I tried drinking it after eating the brie cheese they offered. It felt so different. It’s a totally experience before and after brie. I highly recommend you to try it.

Third, an intense ruby-red with violet hints in color, it possesses fruity aromas which remind one of fresh red fruits and white pepper. Firm structure, soft lush tannins and satisfying end. Well, what can I say, I am not a big fan of red wine in general unless the food it’s cook in red wine. But I still enjoy it.

Lastly, MY FAVORITE! Dessert wine, the beautiful golden yellow color with deeply ripe tropical fruit aromas of golden berries, lychee, and white flowers accompanied by hints of honey typical of the Gewürztraminer variety. Delicate taste, creamy and full bodied, showing outstanding freshness in the mouth, with complexity, concentration and sweetness in perfect balance and a very long, honeyed and lingering finish. I just want to buy the whole bottle home! Wish I could and if I could, I wouldn’t be buying only one bottle! I am dreaming about it now…

By the way, this wine club are opened to everyone above 21 years old. So if anyone interested in the wine tasting session do feel free to call them for reservation.

What will be offer: Guests will taste four different wines from different parts of the world with the main focus on Argentina.

Wines served on the Wine Club include sparklings, white, red, rose, dessert and fortified wines accompanied with an individual cheese and canapé platter.

 Price: AED 220 per person inclusive of wine notes and canapés.

 Time: Daily, from 6pm onwards

A big thank you to Sarah, the sommelier. She’s definitely very passionate about her job and I learnt a lot during the whole hour and a half session. She teaches us how to assess the wine even though I don’t think I can walk out from that room and claim to be a sommelier but at least now I can have a conversation with some friends regarding it! And please do not even think that it’s easy to be a sommelier. It takes time and you need tons of experience to be one!

In the end of the session, each of us received a small goodies bag which fills with the item above.

Just one more look at this would you? Very vintage but yet elegant table setting..

Okay, I promise that this is gonna be the last picture of the night.. An overview of the whole room.

Hope you enjoy this post and I will see you guys soon again!

