Under African Skies

Finally I decided to take some time off from work so that I can have some “me” time to blog. Don’t get me wrong, I love my current job! I am really enjoying what I am doing now but if you ask me if this is what I want to do for the rest of my life? The answer is No! If you are wondering if there’s any reason behind it, well how about this is not my real passion? I always think you do best when you have the real passion on things that you are doing because no matter how hard you fall, you still manage to pick yourself up just because of P.A.S.S.I.O.N.

Since I came to Dubai, I realized that people are missing it. They somehow lost their passion and I do not blame them cause why would they choose this country if not because of earning some extra cash? I chose the same path but somehow I still miss those proud moments in my life from time to time. Recently, I received an invitation to watch a preview of a musical show. Now, you will learn something new about me, I am a big fan of music! I love singing! I love strong vocals! I don’t like to attend or even listen to music because it reminds me so much about my past. But somehow when I received the invitation, I have an urge to attend it and I did!

This musical show, UNDER AFRICAN SKIES; the nostalgic musical that will take you through the history of South African music starting off from the 1940’s and 1950’s and progressing through the decades until 1990’s are sponsored by:

The Meat Co; the South African meat and steak experts. Part of an international group of steakhouse restaurants located in Australia, the Middle East, Africa and the United Kingdom, The Meat Co is the global meat and steak expert, hailing from South Africa.

UNDER AFRICAN SKIES is an energetic musical that features the music of the pennywhistle and Kewla jazz as well as hits from the late Miriam Makeba along with Paul Simon, Johnny Clegg, Mango Groove and many more South African Legends.

Let me tell you something before I bombard you with some pictures, I did not have high expectation on the musical before I hear them sing. My first impression when I first saw them was, for sure they are very energetic. I just can’t wait to hear them sing! Please start singing! And when they sang, it put such a huge smile on my face and my heart just dropped! My lord! It gave me chills. They are freaking good! Again! I love strong vocals! I just love it love it love it! Immediately I went up to my loved one and said, “ We have to buy the tickets and watch them! “

Guess what I am going to watch them on coming this coming Saturday, so please do not disturb!

Time for some pictures!

The band, fun and energetic and definitely talented.

The band on the left and The Meat Co. on the right.

Now you tell me how can they not put a smile on your face? Seriously!

Now it’s time for some good food… Not only Meat Co sponsored the musical shows, I even have the chance to taste their famous steak during the preview. To be very honest with you, I find the meat slightly tough maybe because it’s cooked medium well. I always prefer my steak to be medium rare slightly pinkish in the middle. But I tasted one of the meat that they served, Wagyu meat, oh mine.. it’s so buttery that it melts in your mouth. Love the meat!

Within 5 minutes, everything disappear!

I forgot what this called, but it tasted quite good.. Love the spices that they mixed into the meat.

If you are a meat lover, please do give The Meat Co. a try or if you are interested with the musical show, The Meat Co is now offering theatre guests the chance to receive a complimentary bottle of house red or white to the value of AED185 or a round of mocktails when one or more main courses are purchased, upon presentation of a ticket from “Under African Skies” to any UAE Meat Company restaurant.* Terms and Conditions apply.

The shows : Wednesday 27th June 2012 to Saturday 30th June 2012, First Group Theatre, Madinat Jumeirah, sponsored by The Meat Co, at 7pm (Wed and Sat) and 8pm (Thu and Fri). Tickets cost Dh185, available at the box office or from Time Out Tickets. 

So what are you waiting for? Get your tickets now before it’s too late!