Hokkaido Chiffon Cake

529031_239785139474847_1872677888_n

I am seriously abusing my oven but damn I love it! Spent most of my time in the kitchen baking one after another…. I don’t know how to explain this, but I always managed to feel therapeutic while baking. It’s like some people play video games, some people do sports, some people shops….  And I bake and eat! I would rather spend all my money into foods. I mean good food! It doesn’t have to be expensive foods like truffles or caviar….? I can be extremely happy even if you feed me a pack of piping hot nasi lemak with sambal ikan bilis.

For those who follow me on twitter, my baby and me just celebrated our 6th years anniversary! I still couldn’t believe it that it’s already been 6 years! Damn I am getting old! Time flies… so I advice all of you to enjoy every seconds and never ever do anything that you will regret. Even though we been together for 6 years, I still feel like we just met yesterday. Thank you baby for the 6 wonderful years!

Today I baked Hokkaido Chiffon Cake; it’s such a light dessert that I can eat all of it in one shot without feeling heavy or guilty. It’s so feather light soft that it actually melts in your mouth.. with a touch of velvety custard cream on top, it’s heavenly.. I am now sitting down at the dining table, enjoying my cake and a cup of hot piping coffee while blogging. What more can I ask for? Perfect way to end my weekend.

One thing that I am missing here it’s a good picture of these precious.. cause its all gone within seconds! Will definitely bake it again and post a better picture next time.

Hokkaido Chiffon Cake

3 egg yolks

20g sugar
35g corn oil
60g milk
70g cake flour

3 egg whites
25g sugar

Filling
60g dairy whipping cream
10g sugar
1tsp instant custard powder

Icing sugar, for dusting

Method
1. Preheat oven to 170C.
2. Whisk egg yolk and sugar till pale in color.
3. Add in corn oil and milk and continue whisking.
4. Sift in cake flour, stir to combine. It’ll be a little runny but no worry.
5. Beat egg white until foamy, gradually add sugar, and continue beat till soft peak form.
6. Take 1/3 of egg white and use a hand whisk to mix into egg yolk batter.
7. Fold in the balance egg white with a spatula till well combine.
8. Scoop batter into pre-arranged paper liners to about ¾ full.
9. Bake for 20 mins at middle rack.
10. Beat whipping cream with sugar till firm and stiff.
11. Add in custard powder, mix well.
12. Pipe custard cream on top of the cake and decorate it with cherry and dust with icing sugar. Refrigerate before consume.