Skin Needling?

Dermaroller

Skin Needling??

I know it sounds like a torture.. medieval age torture I would say but it isn’t that bad.

Before I start, I just need to make a confession with you guys, I’ve always been into trying different type of beauty procedure (non surgical) and beauty products. I don’t know why but I just find it so fascinating. So yes, I do have other interest aside from eating. LOL!

So what is skin needling? It’s also known as derma rolling. It is a treatment to improve your skin texture, smooth wrinkles, fine lines and soften scars. It is suitable for all skin types. Skin needling is performed with a surgical grade instrument with stainless steel micro needles ranging from 0.5mm to 1.5mm in length. By creating tiny punctures on the skin’s top layer, this micro-needling stimulates collagen and elastin creation, which helps rejuvenate the skin.

Basically, its rolling hundreds of needles on your face till you feel the warmth and maybe a little bloody as well! Okay you might think that this is torture and who wants to go through the pain! Trust me! I am a person who can’t tolerate pain at all! And I can say that it isn’t painful but I wouldn’t say that its completely comfortable either. Thanks to the numbing cream they applied beforehand.

Dermaroller

Picture on top : Dermaroller

Before I decided to go ahead with the procedure I actually researched a lot about it for the pros and cons. The pros are as I mentioned above but the cons will be the downtime. I tried the dermaroller a while back and it took almost a week for the redness to subside.

So last week I visited one of the skin clinic here in Dubai to try out the new Derma pen. I know that it is more costly to have the procedure done in skin clinic compared to DIY but I seriously wouldn’t take the risk unless I am super confident that I can do it myself.

They claimed that the dermapen will have a shorter downtime and less painful compared to the dermaroller. So I was thinking why not give it another shot!

images

Photo above : Dermapen

I went to the clinic 15 minutes earlier and immediately the skin therapist took me to the treatment room. Comfortably I laid down on the bed and she applied the numbing cream on my face. Waited for 45 minutes for the numbing cream to be effective. I have to say, I was so bored in that treatment room. How I wish there’s a TV to keep me entertained. Since it’s not available, what’s better way than taking some selfie!

IMG_4530

45 minutes later, the doctor came in to start the procedure. She was very gentle at the beginning just to test on my pain tolerance. Honestly I was so nervous the whole time cause I was just being a scary cat! The whole procedure was pleasantly acceptable. After 30 minutes or so of needling poking on my face, she applied a cooling mask.

IMG_4552

When she first applied the mask, all I felt was a burning sensation but after 5 minutes, I started to feel the cooling effect and super numb lips (such a weird sensation)

IMG_4554

My cheek and neck was quite red as these are the areas that we focused on the most. I know that the picture isn’t flattering. Please pardon me.

IMG_4545

This is the immediate aftermath. What is my thought on the dermapen? It is true that it is less painful and the best part is, it only took me 2-3 days for the redness on my skin to subside. What’s important after the skin needling is to not put any make up in 24 hours and remember to applied sun screen!

Do I see any immediate effect? No, I guess I need more than one session.