Roast Beef – by mum’s in law

The title said it all. This is a recipe that was being taught by my partner’s late mum. I have to say she does have quick and amazing recipe. Unfortunately, I am not able to give you the exact measurement on each ingredient since I adjust the recipe as I cook. So you just have to give it some tasting to adjust the taste while you cook but I can tell you what are the ingredients. 

I actually posted the photo on my Instagram a while ago. So if you haven’t follow me on Instagram, it is time! cause honestly I am more active on my instagram than blogging.

IMG_3956

This is definitely a winning recipe and a recipe to keep! Simple to cook yet elegant to serve it to your guests.

All you need are the below :

  • A good cut of roast meat ( I usually use Rib Eye cut)
  • A bottle of red wine
  • Onion
  • Bay Leaves
  • Heavy Cream
  • Salt and Pepper to taste

Method :

  • Heat up a deep pan / pot, once the pan is hot, place the meat in to seared up all the juices. This is the best part of cooking cause you can hear all the sizzling. Eargasm. If there’s such word. LOL.
  • Once you brown all side of the meat, I think the more the merrier cause it gives flavor. Just please don’t burn it. Add in the onion. Let it cook for a while until it all soften up.
  • This is the 2nd best part, pour in the red wine! Can you hear that sizzling again?? OMG! How can you resist?! Pour in the red wine enough to cover the meat. Place the bay leaves and let it boil.
  • Once it comes to a boil, lower the heat and let it simmer for 45 mins depends on the weight of the meat. Keep turning the meat every 15 minutes so that it’s evenly colored.
  • Next, you just have to take the meat out and cut it into thick slices. Now you can start assembling it on a roasting pan! One slice of meat, one slice jambon and one slice of emmental cheese or you can use gruyere cheese. Just keep assembling it till your done!
  • Preheat the oven to 180°C, place the roasting pan in the oven and let all the cheeses melt through.
  • Meanwhile, you can start working on the sauce. Strained the remained red wine reduction, so that there are not chunky onion or bay leaves pieces. Place the red wine reduction back to the pan, and pour in some heavy cream. Put some salt and pepper to taste. This is where you need to keep tasting and try to adjust the taste. I seriously don’t have the measurement for it. Hopefully one day I’ll be able to give you the exact recipe.
  • Voila! It’s done! Serve 2 pcs of meat with some of the creamed red wine sauce, a simple mashed potatoes and a simple salad will do the trick!

IMG_4630

