A Taste of Home

Expat..

I am an expat in UAE and I am proud of it. I am blessed to be in a country with my life partner that gave us an opportunity to be financially secured with a good career path and it’s a safe country with the least discrimination; given that we are an interracial couple.

We’ve been in UAE for 8 years now and it’s still counting. I still can’t believe the number! 8 YEARS! Seriously?! I can now say that UAE is my second home. Being an expat meaning being away from your homeland and family. It is not easy but it’s manageable, thanks to technology! I am able to stay in touch with all my family member anytime, anywhere.

The only thing that I am not able to stop missing is our beloved Malaysian’s cuisine. The Nasi Lemak.. (a warm fragrant coconut rice with a hint of pandan usually served with sambal belacan (spicy but with a sweet undertaste), Rendang (spicy meat cooked till super tender) and so on.. I can just keep listing the food that I misses but what’s the point if I am not able to satisfy my craving.

So whenever I hear someone said Malaysian’s food, my eyes brighten up as if I won the Powerball. LOL! This is the case with me discovering Rasa Sayang Restaurant in Dubai. I saw it on a Facebook’s post on the Malaysian group in UAE and obviously I have to give it a try!

The restaurant located at Oud Metha next to the Malaysia Trade Centre. I don’t have a high expectation as I was disappointed a few times in Dubai with Malaysian’s food. Again, who am I kidding, I’m not in Malaysia.

It was a disaster for me getting there, as I missed the exit twice and worst of all I was dying of hunger! Anyway, long story short, I managed to find my way.

The place was empty, it was just me and a friend of mine, and another table full of chinese. I was actually worried but when I look through the menu, I was like OMG! I want all of it! Can I order all of it?? Nasi Goreng Kampung, Nasi Lemak, Rendang Beef, Satay, Kang Kung Belacan and many many more!

After reading the menu carefully, we decided to order Kang Kung belacan, Nasi Lemak, and Nasi Rendang Beef.

Nasi Lemak

FullSizeRender (5)

When I saw and tasted the sambal (red paste), I was a little disappointed, I expected to have some anchovies inside and I expected the paste to be a little richer. The chicken was good. It was marinated well. I don’t know what chicken they use, but the drumstick was huge. The rice was good; even though I would like the coconut fragrant to shine out more.

Nasi Beef Rendang

FullSizeRender (6)

Now this is a surprise. It tasted really good. The beef was super tender swimming in the rich spicy gravy. It goes really well with the coconut rice. You can chose to order Jasmine rice instead of coconut rice. I would definitely go for more on this.

Kang Kung Belacan

FullSizeRender (7).jpg

This dish was superb as well. I love kang kung belacan, I tried it once in another restaurant and it tasted horrible. It tasted like someone’s feet!    ( =.=”) But this was good! Another thumbs up!

Of course we can’t leave the restaurant without some dessert!

Pandan Creme Brulee

FullSizeRender (8)

I am a person who is in love with creme brulee and we ordered this. It has a good burnt top sugar, and that’s already one point from me. As for the pandan, it’s a little too strong to my liking.

Seri Muka served with Salted Gula Melaka Ice Cream

FullSizeRender (9).jpg

This is the least of my favorite. First of all, I find it really weird to have Seri Muka with ice cream. It makes sense in terms of flavor specially the Seri Muka alone was too salty; so when you have it with the ice cream, it kinda neutralize it. As for the ice cream, I wasn’t able to taste the Gula Melaka. I wish it has a stronger flavor.

Would I go back to the restaurant? Yes, just to try other dishes.