Homemade Steak Sandwich

“Love is what makes the world go ’round. None of us should have to wait until we’re 85.”

 

I can’t help but to agree with it. I find that love is such a powerful word and emotion. I have a confession to make before I continue.. I am a hopeless romantic. I don’t know if it’s a good thing cause I am pretty sure that there’s no such thing as the “ideal” romance. I blame it all on the Korean and Taiwanese dramas that I’ve watched in the past. Yeap! I said past, I stopped watching those dramas for almost 4 years now.

Not only that I think the “ideal” romance doesn’t exist, but after talking to a few of my friends that are currently still single, I realised that I am super lucky to be able to find my life partner.  They just kept telling me that it’s getting tougher to find true love. To find “the one”. To find so called “life partner” that willing to go through sweet,sour, bitter and spicy (that’s a saying in Chinese) with you. But why?

What’s different now? Is it because women became more independent that it kinda intimidate men? Is it because people don’t believe in love anymore? Or is it because certain things are easier to get that resulted in people don’t have to commit to a relationship?.. (I meant in bed action) LOL!

Let me tell you what love can do.. You see, before I meet Seraphim, I don’t enter the kitchen cause I hate the grease, the heat, and etc… Plus I am always scare that I might burn or cut myself. Conclusion.. I just don’t have the passion for cooking. I hate the kitchen!

But….. when we started living together, for some weird reason, I wanted to cook him dinner.. Oh boy! I remember cooking pasta for the first time. What a mess! It’s not any complicated pasta recipe that I’m talking about. It’s just the simplest spaghetti bolognese and it took me forever to cook it. Anyway… long story short, since then, I started enjoying cooking. I started trying different recipes to see what he likes and dislikes. Whenever I hit a jackpot. I will keep it.. and one of the many recipes will be 

Steak Sandwich :

FullSizeRender 5

It’s such a simple recipe but so good.

Starts off by making the caramelised onions.. Super easy, it’s just a little time consuming cause it took me approximately 20 mins. Of course you can buy it in a jar but I was in the mood to prepare it from scratch.

To caramelised the onions, you would need onion, olive oil, brown sugar and balsamic vinegar. In low heat, sauteed the onions in olive oil until it’s all soften and have a slight golden color, add in brown sugar and balsamic vinegar and voila, it’s done.

Next is to prepare the meat :

FullSizeRender 3

I first rubbed the meat with some olive oil, salt and pepper to taste and a bit of love. Yes! Cooking with love makes everything taste better!  Heat up the pan in high heat. Add very little amount of olive oil,  place the half sliced garlic in the pan along with the rosemary. Once you smell the flavourful aroma, place the meat it. You should hear the sizzling sound. It’s such an orgasmic sound. LOL!

Brown the meat both side to seal in all the juices. Add in a knob of butter to the pan and start basting it.  Once it’s all browned, place the pan into a pre heated oven 180degree for approximately 5 minutes plus or minus, depending on the thickness of the meat and the doneness of the meat you like.

Take the meat out of the oven and let it rest. Let all the juices sip back into the meat..

Meanwhile, you can prepare the bun and the condiments, I used milk bread in this recipe but you can use ciabatta or even baguette. I just lightly toast it. As for the condiments, I sliced some tomatoes and some rocket leaves.

Now come to the sauce, simple… mixed some grainy mustard to some mayonnaise and it’s done! How simple can it get???

Spread the sauce on one side of the bun and set it aside.

Now the meat should be fully rested, slice the meat thinly and place it on the bun with sauce, top it with slices of mozzarella cheeses and place it on a clean tray. Once all assembled, place the tray to the oven. How do you know that it’s done?? Once all the cheese melted! The gooey cheese.. yum yum…

Now that the cheese melted, it’s time for the final assembly, place the sliced tomatoes, caramelised onions and rocket leaves. Top it with the other side of the bun and it’s done!

Simple huh?