Foodie Weekend

I have to be brutally honest here, we didn’t plan to dine in at the Cocktail Kitchen located in Armada Bluebay Hotel, JLT. We were planning to dine in either at Mythos or Nola but they’re like fully booked and it’s super crowded. So we said, let’s give it a try at Cocktail Kitchen.

First of all, we passed by once and that was like weeks before just to check the place out. The interior decor is very simple, modern yet elegant. I quite like it. The place was quiet and pretty chill. When we walked in, one of the waiter explained to us that they still did not obtain the alcohol license so this means no alcohol. I guess that’s the reason that it’s quiet given that the other two restaurants next door that serves alcohol are packed with people.

I honestly didn’t bother if they serve alcohol or not as I usually visit the restaurant for their food not the drinks. So we went there yesterday and it was still pretty quiet even though they started serving alcohol. To be honest, I was a bit skeptical cause it’s quiet… but at the same time I kinda like it cause then we can actually hear the conversation without shouting or screaming.

We were greeted with a warm welcome by our server and he’s super friendly. Two thumbs up to him!

Let’s not waste anymore time.

We ordered 3 starters.

The first one is Grilled Squid with violet potato textures, parsley puree, lemon bagna cauda sauce. I love the violet potatoes! They make it into puree and chips. So sweet and it compliment the squid so well.

FullSizeRender 6

Up next is Scallops with pea puree, roasted fennel, sweet saffron sauce. I am such a big fan of scallops and this been cooked into perfection.

FullSizeRender 9

3rd starters is Burrata Truffle

FullSizeRender 10

As for the main course..

We had, Anis Poached Salmon with roasted fennel, potatoes, chard onions, anisette sauce. It’s such a clean dish.. I loved it even though I would add a little more seasoning to it.

FullSizeRender 7

2nd main course will be Bloody Mary Beef – whole short rib, noisette potatoes, vegetables.

It’s such a mouth watering dish. The meat just melts in your mouth. My partner and friend really enjoyed it.

FullSizeRender 5

Of course, we can’t leave without a dessert yeah?

We ordered 2 desserts to share and the first one that caught my eyes is Poached Pear served with vanilla ice cream and chocolate sauce. I would cut down on the sweetness. It was kinda way too sweet for me. If it was just slightly bitter it would be perfect way to end my meal.

FullSizeRender 11

The 2nd dessert that we ordered is Chocolate & Smoked Raspberry Semifreddo. I love the Smoked Raspberry ice cream. It was such an unique taste. The smokiness flavor matches perfectly with the sweetness and tanginess of the raspberry. As for the chocolate semifreddo, I am not so sure about it. It was kinda like a mousse to me. Like a really thick mousse but I can have that ice cream all day long!

FullSizeRender 12

The whole dinner was such a pleasant surprise and of course the company is very important too. We had such a fun time! I would definitely visit the place again.