Some people eat to live, and I am just the type that live to eat. I am proud to be that way.

I don’t consider myself as a picky eater and I love discovering new food or ingredients. I think I should thank my parents for that cause they’ve always encourage us to try new food/cuisine. Whenever there’s an unfamiliar dish on the dining table, my dad will start distributing us a small piece and ask us to try. Sometimes, he even tell us stories behind that dish or method of preparation. Don’t get me wrong, my dad isn’t a cook but we are  just foodie’s family. We have a family’s chatting group and 99% of the time, we just share pictures of foods that we ate or cooked. It’s fun!

For a person who loves food, I eat almost everything. I don’t care if it’s fast food, casual dining, or fine dining. It all depends on my craving and of course the budget, I can’t have fine dine every day.. It will really make a hole in my pocket. A real big one….

The other day, we ordered in pizza from an international pizza joint, and it reminded me that I have never make one on my own. I wonder why… Oh wait, I know why.. cause I don’t like kneading dough with a space limitation. Now that I have a spacious kitchen counter, I can officially knead dough.

I am not the best in shaping the pizza though… it looks like a world map. Each piece have it’s own shape but guess what, it’s so simple and so affordable!

IMG_6777

Pizza Dough adapted from Gennaro :

500gm Strong Flour

1 tsp Sea Salt

7gm Active Dried Yeast

325ml Lukewarm Water

Method :

  1. Mixed in strong flour and sea salt in a large bowl.
  2. Measured out 325 ml lukewarm water and mixed in the yeast.
  3. Gradually pour in the yeast’s mixture to the flour.
  4. Mix well until you get a rough dough. Let it rest for 5 minutes.
  5. Knead the dough for 10-15 mins or until the dough is smooth and elastic.
  6. Split the dough into 4 portions (medium size pizza) and place it on a tray and cover the tray with a damp cloth.
  7. Let it rest for 2 hours, the dough will double it size.
  8. Dust the counter with a bit of flour and start shaping the dough into the pizza shape (in my case, world map shape) and place it on a baking tray.
  9. Now, you can just put any toppings you would like, and bake the pizza for around 7-8 minutes on a pre-heated oven 220ºC.

Simple ingredients, simple steps and it’s all worth it!