What’s the most important meal?

FullSizeRender

Breakfast is the most important meal of the day. Breakfast provides you with the energy and nutrients that lead to increased concentration in the classroom. Studies show that breakfast can be important in maintaining a healthy body weight.

I am not sure about you, but I always struggles with breakfast. I don’t like the idea of waking up in the morning to prepare breakfast for myself. I always feel that breakfast should be serve in bed. Don’t get me wrong, I don’t mind preparing it for my husband but not for me. It’s a weird habit.. Don’t judge.

So I thought to myself why not make my breakfast ahead of time, so that I don’t feel like I am making myself breakfast in the morning? And that’s how granola came in.. I never make one cause I usually just get it from the store and I have to say, I am always disappointed with it. Either it is too sweet, or just not enough of those yummilicious ingredients like berries.. coconut…. and so on..

If you make this at home, you can be super creative and no need to worry about the ingredients that you don’t like in your granola ever again!

I figured since I’m gonna make myself some home made granola, why not get the ingredients from the organic store. I know it is way more costly than supermarket but I think it’s worth it.

FullSizeRender 2

The picture above is right before I place it in the oven for the last bake.. Honestly, it look like bird’s food… LOL

Recipe

2 cups of oats

1 cup of sunflower seeds

1 cup of sliced almonds

1 cups of shredded coconut (I uses non sweetened coconut)

Place all the above ingredients on a baking tray, don’t worry. You do not need to line the baking tray as it will not stick. You will give these precious a light toast in the oven on a 160 degree celcius. It will take about 10 – 12 minutes

Meanwhile, chopped all the dried foods you like..

I added dried apricots and goji berries. Each 1/2 cups.

Once all that it’s chopped, set it aside.

Now its the fun gooey mixture.

1/2 cup honey

1/4 cup lightly packed brown sugar

1/2 tsp salt

3tbps unsalted butter

1/2 tsp vanilla essence

Put all this in a non stick pot, and melt it all away till it turns into these luscious gooey mixture.

Once all the ingredients are ready, just mix all of the ingredients including the toasted oats mixture in a large bowl.

Place it back on a lining baking tray, and bake it for around 20-23 mins at 160 degree celcius.

Remember to let the granola cool completely, undisturbed, before breaking it into pieces.