Life Changing Event

I think my last post was 2 years ago, I just have a serious problem with sticking to the plan. While I was preparing my morning coffee this morning, I just have an urge to write a post cause I do have quite a lot of recipes to share but before all the recipes sharing, I just wanna share with you guys my life-changing news, I’m officially a MOM of a 3 months old baby. Yes.. I am a mom now. I still couldn’t believe it. Sometimes when I’m so deeply asleep, I woke up not realizing that I have a baby. =.=”

I would say that my whole pregnancy journey was interesting. Full of ups and downs. Before I was pregnant, I always tell my husband that I wanna be those pregnant women who will continue being active despite the pregnancy, I wanna have the pregnancy glow that everyone talks about, I want us to attend birthing classes, baby classes, and you know.. all the fancy ideas that movies sell you. I’m starting to hate movies now.

When I first saw my pregnancy test result, I was happy for a split second then the fear sinks in. I wasn’t sure how to break the news to my husband, even though we had the discussion that we wanna try to have a baby, but we both didn’t expect it to be that early. When I broke the news to him, he was way more happy and excited than I was. At that moment, I just don’t know why I’m not as excited as him. Anyhow, I immediately booked an appointment with the OBGYN to double confirm it and indeed it was POSITIVE!

IMG_1797

When the OBGYN gave me the confirmation, we both were just too excited and we really wanted to share the good news out to all of our family and friends but we just waited for a little longer, just till at least the pregnancy is a little stable. Just when I started to feel excited about the whole idea of us gonna have an additional family member, something shitty happened. Let’s just say that I had some bloody episodes and I was being instructed for bed rest and lots of hormones pills. It wasn’t fun and I was frustrated cause I felt helpless. There goes my idea of being active.. I wasn’t able to be active during 80% of my pregnancy cause of that bloody episode.

Not only I have those episodes, but I had this insane crazy morning sickness! Maybe I shouldn’t call mine as morning sickness, cause I just kept throwing up after every single meal, and during the bad day, I will even throw up from drinking water. It was frustrating and torture at the same time since I’m such a foodie. During that period, I went to several different OBGYN to get a different opinion. I won’t lie, it was kinda stressful especially after I heard the baby’s heartbeats. I just know I need to protect the baby.

Do I have cravings though? I would say yes.. cause I tend to eat more spicy food specifically Korean cuisine and McNuggets.

Most of the symptoms stopped after my 4th months of pregnancy, there’s where I started to go back to the gym to do some SUPER LIGHT work out. Everything was great then. I thought to myself that I could do this. I could totally rock this pregnancy! I started to read a lot of dos and don ts during pregnancy. I sort of google almost every meal before I eat, just to make sure that it’s safe. Started to look into what classes available to me. It was all good!

End of 6th-month pregnancy came, and my bloody scene came back!! I was admitted to the hospital, it was the most nerve wrecking moment ever in my life! I was so worried that I’m gonna lose the baby. My OBGYN couldn’t find the source of my bloody scene and because of that, I was injected with some steroids and other hormones. I remember her telling me that it will be a preterm baby. When I heard that, my heart sank, I just don’t want any complication for my baby. No tube! No incubator! I just want a healthy baby!

IMG_2520

And it wasn’t our plan to deliver outside of my home country, so we bought our flight ticket, I make an appointment with my OBGYN in my home country so I can update her with my situation and we flew back immediately. What an adventure.. I don’t think I will ever forget that. I met with my OBGYN and she immediately figured out my problem and fixed it for me! NO PILLS! NO INJECTIONS! I was furious with the OBGYN in the other country!!! Because of her, I was apart from my husband for more than 4 months! It was the most difficult time ever. I’m not gonna go into that detail but it wasn’t fun!

During that 4 months in Malaysia, I figured I should enroll in baking classes so that I can fill my time and learn something that I truly enjoy. I was in these intense baking classes for 2 full weeks. There I was, with a belly almost 9 months pregnant, I was baking almost every day from 9am till 5pm and sometimes later despite having severe morning sickness. It was tiring but it was well worth! I felt like I compensated all the time lost and it kept my mind occupied.

One day before my due date hit, my water broke in the middle of the night, and my husband finds this funny, cause when my water broke, I was in denial. I actually tried to go back to sleep cause I just don’t want to be admitted to the hospital just yet.. but apparently, water just kept flowing, and I have no choice but to go. I was admitted at approximately 4:30am but I ended up giving birth before midnight. It was quite a long painful labor that I ended up taking epidural during 5cm dilation. I’m not so sure if it’s a good thing, I just don’t feel anything with epidural, it was difficult for me to deliver cause apparently, I have to push during the contractions but I just don’t feel it. =.=”

After some extreme pushing, I heard my baby cries! It was the nicest sound ever! The nurse immediately placed him on my chest for skin to skin contact. It was the first time I ever see him, and I remember I cried hysterically while holding him! It was the most amazing moment ever in my life! Despite all the crazy ups and downs, I’m just so in love with him!

IMG_3536